Wales Rugby League



Scotland secure third place

15th June 2012, 17:43

Scotland secure third place

Scotland secured third place in the curtain raiser after racing into a 26-0 half-time lead, but Ireland made a game of it after the interval.

Scotland secured third place in the curtain raiser after racing into a 26-0 half-time lead, but Ireland made a game of it after the interval.


Ireland had the first chance, regaining the ball from kick-off after it bounced into touch with a Scot touching it.


They almost took the lead from the resulting scrum. Ronan Hogan was stopped a metre short before Bobby Stables prevented Joe Taylor from latching on to a grubber.


Scotland recovered and they took the lead on three minutes when Phil Lang fed Crawford Matthews who slipped cleverly through his markers to score. Luke Watling converted.


Aiden Holland increased the Scots lead on 12 minutes after diving in the corner. Watling goaled again.


It was 16-0 three minutes later when Jordan Rice opened up a gap for Phil Laing.


It went from bad to worse for the Irish when substitute Dave Lewis was sinbinned.


Scotland took full advantage when Ben Parker scored after good work from Mikey Stewart, Phil Laing and Crawford Matthews. Watling converted to make the score 22-0.


They almost scored again but Rice was held up over the line preventing his second.


However Crawford Matthews did manage to break through before the interval to complete his brace and make the half-time score 26-0.


Ireland took first blood in the second half after a break from Jason Thung set up the field position. William Wallace went crashing over from close range and Savage converted.


But Scotland readdressed the balance when Mikey Stewart set up Phil Laing to run over. Rice converted.


Ireland were next on the scoresheet. On 56 minutes, Calluum Mulkeen scored in the corner after good work from Rob Kershaw and Connor Farrell. Savage converted.


They added to their tally ten minutes later when Jason Thong scored a fine individual effort cutting inside his marker to ground. Savage converted again and Ireland were within 14 points.


Then with eight minutes to go Joe Taylor scored in the corner. Savage’s kick went off both posts before going over to make the score 32-24.


But Laing completed the scoring when he went over for his second and Scotland’s seventh to secure their third place position.



  1. Joe Taylor
  2. Ronan Hogan
  3. Callum Mulkeen
  4. Sean Hogan
  5. Jason Thong
  6. Ken Savage
  7. Joel Hinchcliffe
  8. Matty Hadden
  9. Jamie Ward
  10. Sam Wellings
  11. JJ Baird
  12. William Wallace
  13. Robbie Stewart


  1. Stephen Oakley
  2. Rob Kershaw
  3. Dave O’Connor
  4. Ruari Lynch
  5. Dave Lewis
  6. Connor Farrell


Tries: Wallace (46), Mulkeen (56), Thong (66), Taylor (72)

Goals: Savage 4/4



1. Liam Wallace

3. Aiden Holland

17. Gavin Grant

4. Phil Laing

5. Crawford Matthews

6. Luke Watling

14. Sinclair Matthews

15. Ben Owram

9. Mark Lees

8. Lewis Spencer

12. Callum Boyle

18. Harry Chapman-Walker

13. Jordan Rice


10. Bobby Stables

11. Mikey Stewart

16. Ben Parker

7. Doug Crichton

2. Luke Whiteley

19. Brad Marrow

20. James Bird


Tries: C.Matthews (3, 37), Holland (12), Rice (15), Parker (30), Laing (51, 79)

Goals: Watling 3/5, Rice 1/2


Referee: Joachim Abimelech

Half-time: 26-0