Wales Rugby League



Last big match of the year - Wales v Australia u18

30th November 2011, 16:53

Last big match of the year - Wales v Australia u18

It's the last big match of the year in Wales on Wednesday 30 November

Wales under 18s have named an unchanged line-up to take on Australian Institute of Sport at The Gnoll in Neath this Wednesday (kick-off 7.15pm).

Just the 18th man has changed for Wales with Lewis Barnett coming into the fray and will be ready to play if any of the named 17 pick up an injury.

The Welsh youngsters are on a high after winning a tough encounter against England Community Lions 29-28 in Wrexham on November 13th.

They will be once again captained by Rhodri Lloyd, who has his first outing as a Wigan Warriors player following his transfer to them earlier this month.

The well-drilled Australians will be tough opponents having had a good first leg of their tour in France, winning 40-12 against France under 19s but losing out 35-32 against France under 18s a couple of days later.

Having arrived in Britain to their Bristol base on Monday night, they'll be looking for a win to bounce back, while Wales will be looking to build on their English win a couple of weeks ago with their players also aiming to get into the Great Britain Community Lions team for another chance to take on the Australian team on Wednesday 7th December in York.

The two sides last met two years ago in Blackwood with the Aussies running out 38-18 winners.

Admission is just £3 for adults, £1 for juniors aged under 16 and can be paid at the gate at The Gnoll.

For more details on the Australian Institute of Sport side, go to

1. Jacob Morgan (Crusaders)
2. Chris Leyshon (Crusaders)
3. Jack Pring (South Wales Scorpions)
4. TJ Collin (Crusaders)
5. Ben Burgess (Crusaders)
6. Olly Olds (Leeds Rhinos)
7. Courtney Davies (Crusaders)
8. Rhys Pugsley (Crusaders)
9. Dale Evans (Crusaders)
10. Rhys Watkins (Crusaders)
11. David Palmer (Crusaders)
12. Bradley Hill (South Wales Scorpions)
13. Rhodri Lloyd (Wigan Warriors, capt.)
14. Efan Ellis (Crusaders)
15. Jack Molloy (London Broncos)
16. Dan Mock (Crusaders)
17. Osian Phillips (Crusaders)

18th man - Lewis Barnett (Crusaders)