Wales Rugby League



2006 England A 30 Wales A 26

10th September 2006, 20:21

2006 England A 30 Wales A 26

England A beat Wales A for only the second time

England A beat Wales A for only the second time as they ended Wales' five-year grip on the Skanska Home Nations title in a thriller at Featherstone Rovers RLFC.

Wales needed to win by 31-points to regain their title and although that never looked likely, a fourth win over the English looked possible right up until the last 15 minutes.

Wales lost captain Jason Hill in the first minute after he pulled a hamstring but shrugged that off when Adrian Owen touched down, Gareth Jones converted.

Jon Breakingbury added to that lead on eight minutes with Jones converting to give Wales an early 12-0 lead.

However Wales gave away a penalty straight from kick-off and England didn't waste the opportunity and Marco Rossi scored under the posts, Barry John Swindells converting.

England continued the pressure and Paul Drake equalised, scoring and converting his own try.

Wales took the lead again on 25 minutes after Gareth Jones played his usual half-back jinks to weave his way through and converted himself. Wes Palmer broke through to set up Chris Roets in the corner to extend Wales lead but England hit back just before half-time with a Chris Spiers try in the corner.

Karl Wesley pulled another English try back on 50 minutes but Breakingbury gave Wales their six-point advantage back with a try five minutes later.

England scored again on 62 minutes with Rossi's second and Drake converting to level the scores. They took the lead for the first time in the game three minutes later with a Paul Drake converting, the same player adding another penalty soon after to give England a close win.

1. John Breakingbury - Valley Cougars
2. Lewis Calverwell - Newport Titans
3. Chris Roets - Swansea Valley Miners
4. Gareth Holtham - Cardiff Demons
5. Mark Cooke - West Wales Sharks
6. Gareth Jones - Cardiff Demons
7. Andrew Jenkins - Valley Miners
8. Graham Hughes - Cardiff Demons
9. Tom Burnell - Cardiff Demons
10. John Tricky - Cardiff Demons
11. Sean Gilbertson - Cardiff Demons
12. Adrian Owen - Newport Titans
13. Jason Hill - Torfaen Tigers C
14. Mark Devine - Cardiff Demons
15. Wes Palmer - Cardiff Demons
16. Ian Higgins - Cardiff Demons
17. Byron Williams - Blackwood Bulldogs

1. Barry-John Swindells - Hemel Stags
2. Dave West - Ipswich Rhinos
3. Karl Wesley - Leicester Phoenix
4. Steve Froggett - Featherstone Lions
5. Craig Campbell - Blackpool Sea Eagles
6. Scott Pendlebury - Bramley Buffalos C
7. Adam Browne-Huddersfield Underbank
8. Marco Rossi - Dudley Hill
9. Chris Spiers - Blackpool Sea Eagles
10. Andy Lake - St Albans
11. Lee O'Connor - Dudley Hill
12. Carl Leach - Widnes Saints
13. Gary Keegan-Huddersfield Underbank
14. Dan Reeds - Lincoln City Knights
15. Mark Roach - Thorne Moor Marauders
17. Chris Gardner - Bramley Buffaloes
18. Paul Drake - Bramley Buffaloes

Men of the Match:
England - Chris Spears
Wales - Graham Hughes

article by Ian Golden
10 September 2006