Wales Rugby League



Student squads named for Home Nations

10th July 2018, 10:56

Student squads named for Home Nations

The squads have been named for the Student Home Nations in Pontypridd next week.


All matches in the 2018 tournament will be played at Sardis Road, Pontypridd from July 17-22.

Wales last won the trophy when they were last hosts – in 2012 – when they beat England 20-18 in a dramatic encounter in Wrexham. They also won the trophy in 2009 in Leeds and in 2004 in Aberavon.

England are the current holders after winning the trophy in 2016 in Edinburgh, their 11th success in this four nations tournament.

Scotland and Ireland have yet to win the tournament but the Scots did take second place in 2003 and 2006.

The tournament has become a launchpad for a number of players in their Super League and international careers. Future Warrington Wolves and Wales and full Wales international Gareth Davies captained Wales Students in the first tournament back in 1994, whilst Phil Carleton and Neil Davies were two future full Wales internationals who played in the 2004 tournament win, Lloyd White, Christiaan Roets, Owain Brown and Rhys Griffiths were just four who starred for Wales in 2009 whilst Izaac Duffy and Yannic Parker played in 2012.



Tuesday 17th July - England v Scotland (2.30pm), Wales v Ireland (4.45pm)

Thursday 19th July - Ireland v England (2.30pm), Wales v Scotland (4.45pm)

Sunday 22nd July - Scotland v Ireland (2.30pm), Wales v England (4.45pm)


For a full record of the Student Home Nations tournament, go to




Macauley Harris (Cardiff and Vale College)

Fraser Stroud (Cardiff and Vale College)

James Bartlett (Cardiff Met University)

Ashley Bateman (Coleg Y Cymoedd)

Lloyd Bodman (Coleg Y Cymoedd)

Matthew Morgan (Coleg Y Cymoedd)

Rhys Gant (Educ8)

Morgan Johnson (Ellesmere College)

Liam Rice-Wilson (University of Gloucestershire)

Conor Harding (Hartpury College)

Dewi Billingham (Leeds Beckett University)

Aled Davies (Liverpool John Moores Uni)

Dafydd Rees (Manchester Met University)

Joel Hopkins (Oxford Brookes University)

Rhys Davies (University of South Wales)

Dylan Evans (University of South Wales)

Jarad Hinnem (University of South Wales)

Lloyd Selby-Smith (University of South Wales)

Tom Seldon (Swansea University)

Billy Forrester (West Cheshire College)

Paul Emanuelli - Head Coach

Chris Vitalini - Assistant Coach

Keely Empson - Sports Therapist

Lee Goddard – Staff

David Albertelli - Team Manager



Alex Clegg (Northumbria University)

Alex Ford (University of Exeter)

Ben Stead (University of Gloucestershire)

Conner MacCallum (Manchester Met Uni)

Daniel Gover (Coventry University)

Harry Chapman (Loughborough University)

James Mason (University of Gloucestershire)

Jason Bass (Newcastle University)

Jed Mawdsley (Newcastle University)

Joe Capless (Northumbria University)

Kieran Smith (University of Hull)

Lee Registe (Leeds Beckett)

Lewis Fairhurst (Edge Hill University)

Lewis Taylor (Loughborough University)

Luke Stephens (University of Gloucestershire)

Marcus Stock (University of Sheffield)

Matthew Chrimes (Leeds Beckett University)

Munashe Fumhanda (University of Leicester)

Ryan Langton (University of Hull)

Will Jubb (University of Hull)

Richard Tate - Head Coach

Kevin Deighton - Assistant Coach

Callum Christopherson - S&C

Laura Clint – Physio, David Butler - Team Manager



Archie Andrade (Maltings College, Halifax)

Douglas Chirnside (Oxford Brookes University)

Mark Cordeaux (Sheffield Hallam University)

Jake Seymour (Leeds Becket University)

Jack McMillan (Halifax Elite)

Duncan, Jordan   (SRUC Elmwood)

Jordan Parry (University of Sheffield)

Niall Hall (Dundee College)

Matthew Hogg (Newcastle University)

Nick Glohe (University of Newcastle NSW)

Murray Mitchell (ICAS Students)

Alex Paterson (Heriot-Watt University)

Luke Westman (Illawarra TAFE)

Harris Jones (University of Gloucestershire)

Oliver Rust (Abertay University)

Daniel May (Halifax Elite Rugby Academy)

Elliot Campbell    (Gen2 Furness Skills Centre)

Charlie Emslie (Furness College)

Luke Punton (Woodhouse Grove School)

Patrick Noutch (Carlisle College)

Nathan Graham - Head Coach

Gary Smith - Assistant Coach

Sam Wicketts – Physio

Ben Pullen – Staff

Luke Wiseman - Team Manager



Aaron Ryan (Dublin Institute of Technology)

Adam Malone (University of Limerick)

Conor Creaby (IT Blanchardstown)

Dean McMahon (Athlone Institute of Technology)

Dylan Purvis (Cork Institute of Technology)

James Foley (Institute of Technology Carlow)

James Millar (Ulster University)

Jonny Mooney (Belfast Metropolitan College)

Mark Woods (Ulster University)

Matt Connolly (IT Blanchardstown)

Matt McKelvey (Belfast Metropolitan College)

Matty Coulter (Belfast Metropolitan College)

Richie McHugh (Trinity College Dublin)

Roy Stanley (NUI Galway)

Ryan Guilfoyle (NUI Galway)

Bradley Sheridan (University of Warwick)

Ciaran Howard (St Mary’s University)

Paul Bolger (University of Gloucestershire)

Peter Ryan (Coventry University)

Rory Wise (Oxford Brookes University)

Carl De Chenu - Head Coach

Keith Griffin - Staff

Kenny Calladine - Staff

Steve Strain - Driver