Wales Rugby League



Wales bring in new player for Commonwealth squad

3rd February 2018, 11:10

Wales bring in new player for Commonwealth squad

The 17-year old Wales Touch international player Stefan Collins has been brought into Wales Rugby League's Commonwealth Championships squad after Ben Jones withdrew late last week for personal reasons


The Merthyr Tydfil born tri-code player initially played rugby union for Nelson before switching to Touch with Ystrad Mynach Titans and charity side Velindre Untouchables and winning Wales under 18 caps.

He recently switched to rugby league with college side Coleg Y Cymoedd and scored two tries on his debut against USW.

Wales coach Shane Eccles said: "Stefan only just missed out on the initial cut so we're delighted to bring him into the squad after Ben was unfortunately not able to go. He impressed us all in recent trials and as an experienced Touch player, a game that is an offshoot of rugby league anyway, I'm sure he'll do well."

Wales are competing in the 2018 Rugby League Commonwealth Championships In Moreton Bay, Queensland on February 23-24.

The Nines tournament is officially endorsed by the Commonwealth Games Federation and is classed as an exhibition sport.

Wales won bronze four years ago in Glasgow, and they will again take on Australia, the 2014 silver medallists, as well as Fiji and Scotland in Group A.

To sponsor a Wales player on this tour, please email the Wales tour’s commercial manager Craig Poskett at

Please visit to view the tournament website. More information will be added to the site between now and the tournament kick off. Tickets are also on sale via this website as well as information on attractions and activities available in the Moreton Bay area.

For the rules of Rugby League Nines, and a full history of Wales’ involvement, please go to

Go to to watch highlights of the 2014 tournament.

REVISED WALES SQUAD: Cobi Green (Bradford Bulls), Liam Rice-Wilson, Zak Williams (both Coventry Bears), Stefan Collins (Coleg Y Cymoedd), Blake Turner (Rochdale Hornets), Liam Silver, Jake Thomas (both Torfaen Tigers), Daniel Crabtree (Ulverston ARLFC), Rhys Gant (Valley Cougars), Karlin Claridge, Connor Farrer, Macauley Harris, Morgan Jeffries, Aneurin Walker (all West Wales Raiders), Paul Edwards (unattached – former South Wales RLFC).