Wales Rugby League



St John's the Baptist Aberdare win Welsh Year 11 title

19th January 2018, 11:37

St John's the Baptist Aberdare win Welsh Year 11 title

Exciting Welsh Champion Schools final played this week.

A 26-point haul for Wales under 16s stand-off Cameron Samuel saw St John the Baptist School, Aberdare to a 38-10 Victory over a spirited Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni side to be crowned Welsh Schools Year 11 Champions.

Cwm Rhymni started the stronger and quickly found themselves in a 4-0 lead when Josh Neeson crossed in the corner.

St John’s struck back five minutes late when Samuel pounced on a loose ball to score in the corner before dancing through for a second and this time adding the extras.

That was before a fine long range effort from Morgan Biggins and another Samuel conversion saw St John’s take an 18-4 lead into half time.

The second half saw a quick double from Samuel to extend the lead to 28-4. Young centre Kian Evans then swatted away several defenders to score in the corner before to take the lead to 32-4.

Cwm Rhymni then came strong and when the industrious Harry Lewis crashed over from close range and Josh Ponchaud converted, hopes of an unlikely comeback grew.

However they proved to be short lived as Josh Culpeck crossed for the seventh St John’s try and Samuel added a final conversion.

Both sides now progress into the National Champion Schools rounds where St John’s can look forward to hosting visitors from the North West whilst Cwm Rhymni make the trip up the M4 to face the winners of the London Tournament.