Wales Rugby League



PNG Kumuls name RLWC2017 squad

4th October 2017, 11:08

PNG Kumuls name RLWC2017 squad

Papua New Guinea Kumuls have named their final Rugby League World Cup 2017 squad.

It was announced by PNGRFL chairman Sandis Tsaka earlier today in the presence of ExxonMobil PNG managing director Andrew Barry and National Gaming Control Board CEO Imelda Agon.

Ten SP PNG Hunters, including Boas bothers Ase and Watson, have been included in Michael Marums' squad, along with Wartovo Puara, Wellington Albert, Willie Minoga, Stargroth Amean, Nixon Putt, Stanton Albert, Moses Meninga and Enock Maki.

Gary Lo makes a welcomed return to the national side, along with James Segeyaro.

The captain is David Mead, with Ase Boas as vice captain.

Tsaka congratulated the selected players and urged them to play their best in front of the home crowd.

“Riding on the back of the successful SP PNG Hunters season in the Queensland Intrust Super Cup, the support of our nation’s eight million plus people will turn to the PNG LNG Kumuls in the 2017 World Cup campaign," Tsaka said.

"With three home games, the expectations of our people is there for you to perform well. All we ask of you is to play every game with pride and passion. We will be right behind you."

Coach Michael Marum revealed the squad will assemble in Port Moresby tomorrow (Thursday) October 5 and undergo medical and fitness tests.

“We will have our first training run on Friday,” he said.

The team leaves for Fiji next Wednesday (October 11) for the Tri Nations series against Australia and Fiji at the ANZ Stadium in Suva on October 14.

They return on October 16 and have a few days break before assembling into camp on October 20.

The PNG LNG Kumuls play their first gamer on October 28 against Wales.

The second match is a week later on November 5 against Ireland and the final home pool game is against USA on November 12.

All games will be played at the Oil Search National Football Stadium in Port Moresby.

The squad is:
Ase Boas - SP PNG Hunters
David Mead - Brisbane Broncos
Enock Maki - SP PNG Hunters
Garry Lo - Sheffield Eagles
James Segeyaro - Cronulla Sharks
Justin Olam - Melbourne Storm
Kato Ottio - Canberra Raiders
Kurt Baptiste - Canberra Raiders
Lachlan Lam - Sydney Roosters
Luke Page - Burleigh Bears
Moses Meninga - SP PNG Hunters
Nene MacDonald - St. George Illawarra Dragons
Nixon Put - SP PNG Hunters
Paul Aiton – Catalan Dragons
Rhys Martin – Canterbury Bulldogs
Rod Griffin – Canterbury Bulldogs
Stanton Albert - SP PNG Hunters
Stargroth Amean - SP PNG Hunters
Thompson Teteh - Redcliffe Dolphins
Wartovo Puara Jnr - SP PNG Hunters
Wellington Albert – SP PNG Hunters 
Watson Boas – SP PNG Hunters
Willie Minoga – SP PNG Hunters