Wales Rugby League



Wales Dragonhearts name 26-man training squad

21st September 2017, 08:11

Wales Dragonhearts name 26-man training squad

Following two very competitive trial matches, the Wales Dragonhearts coaching staff have selected a 26-man training squad for their matches against Devon County and Germany next month.


Wales Dragonhearts are the representative side of the community game in Wales.

In the trial games, a South Wales Probables side defeated the British Army in Llanelli before the North Wales Origin team edged out a South Wales Possibles side in Wrexham last weekend.

Wales Dragonhearts away in Germany last year

It was a difficult process for the staff with over 50 Welsh players to choose from and after re-analysing both public trial matches, Andrew Thorne and his staff chose a squad that they thought had shown the most promise during not only the two games, but also after feedback from their club coaches.

Five of last week’s victorious North Wales Origin side have been selected – Andrew Oakden and Mike Walker from Chester Gladiators, Ben Stelmaszek of Flintshire Falcons, Morgan Johnson from North Wales Crusaders Juniors and Jonny Rae from Thatto Heath Crusaders.

Sixteen of the training squad played in the Probables match back in July with ten of those coming from the unbeaten 2017 Valley Cougars side.

Six players have been selected from the Welsh Premier League runners up Torfaen Tigers whilst there are two players each from Cardiff Blue Dragons and West Wales Raiders and one from Rhondda Outlaws.

Wales Dragonhearts will take on Devon County away on October 1st before taking on the full Germany side in Wales on October 14th at a venue to be confirmed. A further international will follow and that is expected to be announced soon.

WALES DRAGONHEARTS 26-MAN SQUAD: Kyle Rose, Ryan Shallish (both Cardiff Blue Dragons), Andrew Oakden, Mike Walker (both Chester Gladiators), Ben Stelmaszek (Flintshire Falcons), Morgan Johnson (North Wales Crusaders Juniors), Mark Jones (Rhondda Outlaws), Jonny Rae (Thatto Heath Crusaders), Sam Baker, Matt Cummins, Kurtis Haille, Jarrad Hinnem, Louis Pengelly, Liam Silver (Torfaen Tigers), Scott Britton, Ethan Coombes, Scott Giles, Lee Goddard, Dafydd Hellard, Dean Higgs, Mike Hurley, Shane Lee, Yousif Sulliman, Liam Watton (all Valley Cougars), Mathew Davies, Ben Swift (both West Wales Raiders)