Wales Rugby League



Wales name under 16 training squad

16th June 2017, 12:02

Wales name under 16 training squad

Wales Rugby League have announced a 40-man training squad for this year’s international under 16s side with players selected from all over the country.

Wales Rugby League have announced a 40-man training squad for this year’s international under 16s side with players selected from all over the country.


This year’s selection process has seen a strong cohort of players attend assessment days at venues in North and South Wales. On review of both days the coaching team have had to make many difficult decisions to get the participants of those events down to the 40 players who will attend the final assessment day held at the Deeside Leisure Centre, Chester Road West, Queensferry, CH5 1SA at 11.00am on Saturday 24th June 2017.


The final selection process which will take place after the assessment day on 24th June and will see those players who are successful join the Wales Under 16s National RL squad for 2017.


Notification will be circulated via e-mail to all players regarding the final selection, this will be done by Friday 30th June 2017 (at the latest).


Wales Rugby League would like to thank all participants for their attendance at the initial assessments days and anyone who has not progressed to the final assessment day will continue to be monitored and encouraged to attend any future player development days and assessment events for the junior national squads in place with Wales Rugby League.


The schedule for the final assessment day will be as follows:


11.00                     Player registration

11.30                     Player warm up

12.00                     Team run

12.30                     Game 1: Red v Blue

12.55                     Game 2: Green v Red

13.20                     Game 3: Blue v Green

13.45                     Finish


Changing facilities and showers will be available for all players before and after the trial.


The following players listed below have been successful in progressing to the final assessment and should be congratulated on their achievement so far. Wales Rugby League now look forward to seeing all the players at 11.00am on 24th June.


Charlie Bodman                Aber Valley Wolves

Jacob Lee            Aber Valley Wolves

Christian Nicolass             Aber Valley Wolves

Josh Ponchard   Aber Valley Wolves

Shaun Webber  Aber Valley Wolves

Adam Young                                      Aber Valley Wolves

Finn Swift            Blackbrook Royals

Tom Jenkins-Welch         Cardiff Blue Dragons

Callum Penn       Cardiff Blue Dragons

Jac Powell           Cardiff Blue Dragons

Lewis Hall            Crosfields ARLFC & Warrington Wolves

James Machin   Crosfields ARLFC & Warrington Wolves

Harrison Hobbs East Wales Under 17s

Lewis Dodd         Halton Farnworth Hornets & St Helens RLC

Billy Glover         Halton Farnworth Hornets & Widnes Vikings

Thomas Hopwood           Halton Farnworth Hornets

Harvey McDaid Halton Farnworth Hornets & St Helens RLC

Keenan McDaid                Halton Farnworth Hornets & St Helens RLC

Will Smith                                            Halton Farnworth Hornets & St Helens RLC

Ryan Griffiths    Ince Rose Bridge

Matthew Jones Leigh Miners Rangers

Will Lynch            Leigh Miners Rangers

Matthew Morgan            Rhondda Outlaws

Teifion Thomas Rhondda Outlaws

Will Clapham      South Wales Rabbitohs

Morgan Johns   South Wales Rabbitohs

Cameron Samuel             St John’s School, Aberdare

Jake Cannon      SW Rabbitohs & SW Ironmen

Campbell Hills    Torfaen Tigers

Lewis Thomas    Torfaen Tigers

Bradley Hulme  Waterhead Warriors

Ewan Badham   West Wales Raiders

Ieuan Badham   West Wales Raiders

Cael Chamberlin               West Wales Raiders

Joel Davies          West Wales Raiders

Iestyn Hopkins  West Wales Raiders

Deyton Owen    West Wales Raiders

Ben Snadden     West Wales Raiders

Garin Standing  West Wales Raiders

Tom Walker        Wrexham RUFC & RGC1404 RU