Wales Rugby League




13th October 2016, 22:18


Wales head coach John Kear has named his 19-man squad for Saturday's 2017 Rugby League World Cup Qualifier against Serbia

Wales head coach John Kear has named his 19-man squad for Saturday's 2017 Rugby League World Cup Qualifier against Serbia. 


Super League stars Gil Dudson and Lloyd White - who both last played for Wales in the 2013 World Cup - are named in the squad. 


Salford duo Craig Kopczak and Phil Joseph are also in the 19 as captain and vice captain respectively, while Jake Emmitt could make his first appearance since 2013 if he plays. 


Andrew Gay, who last turned out for The Dragons in 2011 and has signed a deal with the South Wales Ironmen for 2017, could also make a return. 


The majority of last year's succesful European Championships squad, including the impressive Courtney Davies and Ollie Olds partnership, have made the cut.


On the squad, Kear said: "“We will be challenged physically by Serbia, especially upfront, but we’ve got to be live to that.


"At the end of a long season, there’s bound to be bumps and bruises to some players, but I’m really pleased with the group we’ve got here for this campaign and the quality."


Serbian star centre Stevan Stevanović, one of four Dorćol players in the current squad, will be on duty, whilst the visitors are looking forward to young Wests Tigers prop Jordan Grant, voted their NSW Cup player of the year in 2016, making his debut.


“We are very satisfied with our training camp this past week,” said Serbian head coach Ljubomir Bukvic.


“Apart from injured Vladica Nikolic, we have full squad available and the players are really motivated to represent their country. 


“We are aware what a quality side Wales are, but this is an historic opportunity for us and we will try to make the most of it.”


Wales' 19-man is as follows: 1 Elliot Kear, 2 Rhys Williams, 4 Christiaan Roets, 5 Regan Grace, 6 Courtney Davies, 7 Ollie Olds, 8 Gil Dudson, 9 Lloyd White, 10 Craig Kopczak (captain), 11 Rhodri Lloyd, 12 Lewis Reece, 12 Phil Joseph (vice captain), 14 Steve Parry, 15 Joe Burke, 16 Jake Emmitt, 17 Ant Walker, 18 Andrew Gay, 19 Matty Fozzard, 20 Morgan Evans


Serbia's 19-man squad is as follows: David Andjelić, Reece Grkinić, Daniel Burke, Jason Muranka, Dalibor Vukanović, Stefan Nedeljković, Dalibor Samardzic, Stevan Stevanović, Joshua Marjanović, Džavid Jašari, Pero Madžarević, Miloš Ćalić, Miloš Zogović, Vladislav Dedić, Vojislav Dedić, Chad Grant, James Mirceski, Jordan Grant, Ilija Radan


Tickets are still available for the Serbia clash and can be purchased online HERE