Wales Rugby League



Wales Students name 4 Nations squad

7th June 2016, 06:27

Wales Students name 4 Nations squad

Wales Rugby League have named a 20-man students squad in preparation for the forthcoming Four Nations tournament.

Wales Rugby League have confirmed their 20-man students squad in preparation for the forthcoming Four Nations tournament.


The tournament starts on June 12th in Edinburgh when Wales will take on England, Scotland and Ireland all in the space of a week.


Initially, a 22-man squad was selected last week and after further training sessions, the 20 have now been confirmed.


The 20 come from a total of 13 establishments from all over the UK, with many of the squad already having played for South Wales Scorpions first team, reserves or academy, and others being involved in other professional or community clubs.


Head coach Latham Tawhai said: “The selection of this group of players comes after our training weekend held at Caerphilly RFC where the players were put through a couple of days of intense training to prepare them for the rigours of the tournament where they will play three games in the space of six days.


“Whilst some of the more senior players are unavailable for selection this year due to other commitments, we’re excited to unveil some of the up and coming talent in Wales.


“There is no doubt we will have one of the youngest Student sides we’ve ever taken to the tournament but given we are a year out from a World Cup we felt it was important to blood some of the younger players who have a great chance of making it on to the plane next year.  They’ll learn a lot from being part of this tournament which hopefully puts them in good stead come 2017.”



Chris Jones (Bangor University)

Liam Cashman, Fraser Robinson (both University of Bath)

Harry Boots, Tom Morgan (both Cardiff Metropolitan University)

Sion Jones, Lloyd Selby Smith, Lewis Willacott (all Coleg Y Cymoedd)

Matt Davies, Liam Rice Wilson (both University of Gloucestershire)

Connor Davies, Curtis Davies, Marcus Webb (all Leeds Beckett University)

Lewis Hughes (Neath Port Talbot College)

Tom Davies (Newcastle University)

Ieaun Jones (Northumbria University)

Alec Wheatley (Nottingham Trent University)

Evan Wynne (Sheffield University)

Brandon Lamb (South Gloucestershire and Stroud College)

Cobi Green (Treorchy Comprehensive School)


13th-18th June - Student 4 Nations, The University of Edinburgh, Peffermill Playing Fields 

13th June - Ireland v England 15:30, Scotland v Wales 18:00

15th June - Wales v Ireland 15:30, Scotland v England 18:00

18th June - Scotland v Ireland 12:00, England v Wales 14:30