Wales Rugby League



Wales Students too strong for Ireland

13th April 2014, 19:57

Wales Students too strong for Ireland

Lloyd Thomas scored five first half tries as Wales overwhelmed Ireland 72-0 in their opening fixture in the Student Four Nations.

By Simon Dent


Lloyd Thomas scored five first half tries as Wales overwhelmed Ireland 72 - 0 in their opening fixture in the Student Four Nations.


The centre claimed his hat-trick after only 23 minutes and then went on to complete his five try haul three minutes before half-time.


Tom Hughes, Osain Phillips, Alex Randall, Jono Jones, Lewis Stockton and Morgan Evans were touched down as Wales began their Four Nations campaign with a bang.


With just two minutes gone on the clock, Marcus Webb’s cut out pass enabled Lloyd Thomas to go over for his first of his touchdowns. Five minutes later, his fancy footwork got him over for another, the successful conversion making it 10 – 0 after less than ten minutes.


Wales’s next two scores were the result of good handling and great footwork to increase the side’s advantage and punish Ireland even more. Osain Phillips and Thomas were the scorers, the centre Thomas making it a hat-trick.


A different method of attack brought Lloyd Thomas’s fourth, a kick to Lewis Stockton before the winger dumped the ball into the hands of his centre to touchdown.


Marcus Webb was cut Ireland open with ease throughout the afternoon, so it was no surprise to see his long pass to Lewys Weaver result in further points.


Ireland were having major defending issues out wide, but a barnstorming run down the middle by Morgan Evans also proved beyond the Irish defenders.


Alex Randall grabbed two tries in the final 20 minutes, both being simple run-ins for the forward.


Jono Jones and Lewys Weaver rounded off the scoring for Wales inside the last 15 minutes, showing a statement of intent from Wales.



  1. Jordan Sheridan
  2. Lewis Stockton
  3. Tom Hughes
  4. Lloyd Thomas
  5. Lewys Weaver
  6. Rhys Morgan
  7. Marcus Webb
  8. Mike Connor
  9. Alex King
  10. Morgan Evans
  11. Luke Kell
  12. Owain Davies
  13. Osain Phillips
  14. Jono Jones
  15. Alex Randall
  16. Harrison Elliott
  17. Tristan Trehan
  18. Tom Davies



  1. Ciaran Connolly
  2. Diarmuid Carr
  3. Finn Stoneman
  4. Vincent Morris
  5. Matthew Connolly
  6. James Kelly
  7. Josh Dean
  8. Stephen Gamble
  9. Connor Phillips
  10. Aidan Devane
  11. Benedict Turner
  12. Josh Crabtree
  13. Robbie Stewart
  14. Ben Matchett
  15. Shane O’Relly
  16. Stephen Costello
  17. Gareth Gill