Wales Rugby League




Fri 17/03M2A

Wed 22/03NE1
Calderdale VS.
Leeds City

Wed 22/03NE1
Kirklees CoVS.
Greenhead C

Wed 22/03NW2
Hopwood HalVS.
Salford Red

Wed 22/03NW2
Moreton Rug6
Carmel Coll50

Wed 22/03NW2
Oldham 6th 0
Warrington 30

Wed 22/03NW2
St John RigVS.
Priestley C

Wed 22/03NW2
Salford Cit30
The Rugby L0

Wed 22/03NW2
Runshaw ColVS.
Cronton Col

Wed 22/03NW2
Winstanley 30
Wigan Warri0

Wed 22/03NW2
Wigan & LeiVS.
Cowley Sixt

Wed 22/03PE1
Coleg y Cym58
Bristol Aca24

Wed 22/03PE1
Bishop Burt44

Wed 22/03PE1
Hopwood Hal4
Halifax ERA8

Wed 22/03PE1
New CollegeVS.
Wakefield C

Wed 22/03PE1
Furness RaiVS.

Wed 22/03BCT
Nottingham 14

Wed 22/03CHA
Leeds Becke18

Wed 22/03M2A

Wed 22/03FRI
Manchester VS.
Edge Hill

Wed 22/03FRI
South Wales

Wed 22/03VA
University 4

Wed 22/03N3B
Sheffield A

Wed 22/03M2A
Nottingham 1
Oxford Broo64

Wed 22/03VA
Sheffield H26

Wed 22/03NE2
Leeds ColleVS.
Craven Coll

Sat 25/03C3
Newcastle TVS.
Midlands Hu

Mon 27/03FRE
Midlands HuVS.
Leeds City

Wed 29/03NE2
Craven CollVS.
New College

Wed 29/03VA
St Marys

Wed 29/03CUP
Hopwood HalVS.
Wakefield C

Wed 29/03CUP
New CollegeVS.
Halifax ERA

Wed 29/03VA
Liverpool J

Wed 05/04PE1
Bishop BurtVS.
Coleg y Cym

Wed 05/04PE1
Newcastle T

Wed 05/04PE1
Halifax ERAVS.
Furness Rai

Wed 05/04PE1
Wakefield CVS.
Hopwood Hal

Wed 19/04PE1
Bristol AcaVS.

Wed 19/04PE1
Newcastle TVS.
Bristol Aca

Wed 19/04PE1
New CollegeVS.
Halifax ERA


Page title The Summer Switch
2011 Year 8 Final - St Joseph's 38 Temple Moor 28

2011 Year 8 Final - St Joseph's 38 Temple Moor 28

26th August 2011, 14:17


By Ian Golden at Twickenham Stoop

St Joseph's RC School from Newport wrote a piece of Welsh history on Friday afternoon after beating the more experienced Temple Moor School from Leeds 38-28 to become National Year 8 Rugby League Champions.

It's the first time that a Welsh school has won any national Champions Schools Rugby League competition in six years and while the last school to do so, Brynteg of Bridgend, made stars of Rhys and Ben Evans, St Joseph's have their own twins in Rollin and Elvis Menayese who scored all the St Joseph's points between them.

Rollin led the way and rightly won man of the match with his five tries and five conversions while Elvis chipped in with a brace of touchdowns of his own.

The overwhelmed Rollin was delighted at his 30-point hall saying: "It feels amazing, it's the best feeling in the world. It was worth all of those games in the wet and cold to come and play at a Stadium like this. It's the first time I've ever played at a proper ground. It was a great atmosphere.

"It was good to even get this far but to win the game is amazing. I hope we can do it all again next year but there's a lot of hard work that we need to put in before then."

There was just one minute gone in the first of the two 25 minute halves, and St Josephs took the lead when from a scrum, Rollin Menayese broke through to run under the sticks before converting himself.

His brother Elvis looked to have broke through for a second straight away but the referee pulled him back after being judged to have stepped in touch.

But the Newport lads gave away the ball from a scrum following an infringement and Temple Moor fought back, Harvey Hallas scoring after a good set of six. Jonny Hynes converted.

And the English took the lead four minutes later when Luke Barraclough broke through from short range. Hynes kicked well to make the score 12-6.

St Joseph's levelled on 15 minutes when Rollin Menayese picked up a loose ball and ran 60 metres to ground and goaling again.

Temple Moor regained the lead on 19 minutes when following an error from kick-off then a scrum, Hallas ran through from dummy half. Hynes converted again.

And it was 24-12 when Roy Railton was allowed to run through a far too large hole in the St Joseph's defence and Hynes added the extras.

Elvis Menayese tried to get a score back, going on another of his mazy runs but again, this time more obviously, he stepped into touch and the chance was lost.

Temple Moor missed an easy chance to go 30-12 up just before the hooter when an unmarked Jacob Thompson failed to ground following Hynes' grubber.

But they did score their fifth try five minutes into the second half when Railton's strength and speed eased him past the Newport defence to score in the corner. Hynes missed the kick on this occasion.

St Joseph's fight back started when Rollin Menayese stole the ball and ran unchallenged under the sticks for his hat-trick, converting again.

And from the restart, Elvis Menayese ran 80 metres for another try back. Rollin's kick went just wide of the post.

With eight minutes remaining on the clock, St Joseph's levelled, once again through wonder-kid Rollin, running through the tiring Leeds defence beating everyone to score under the posts and converting.

In the final five minutes, the game could have gone either way. Temple Moor winger Danny Quarmby missed an excellent chance to give his side the win when he fumbled the ball when going for the line.

And St Joseph's made them pay. With three minutes remaining, Rollin Menayese dived over from dummy half for his fifth try and converted again.

Miraculously he was denied a sixth in the final minute as was tackled with 20 metres to go on another long run, but from the next play, Elvis went on another of his runs from centre to wing to ground in the corner.

"It was a tough win," said St Joseph's coach Stefan Sankala, who has turned out for Cardiff Demons and Wales Students in his playing career. "It crept away from us at the end of the first half when we were three tries down but to be fair, we kept plugging away and managed to get a couple of tries to get back into it. I'm really proud of all of the lads today who did their bit not just for St Joseph's and Newport but for Wales."

1. Dan Buttler
2. Jack Hobbs
3. Max Williams
4. Elvis Menayese
15. Andrew Ogun
6. Jordan Davies
7. Jack Canavan
8. Keenan Bird
9. Tom Davies
5. Brad Yearsley
16. Dan Ralphs
12. Emerson Clarke
13. Rollin Menayese
14. Arad Samsanov
10. Sean Conlan
11. Jo Fullwood
17. Matt Waters

Tries: Rollin Menayese (1, 15, 33, 42, 47), Elvis Menayese (36, 50)
Goals: Rollin Menayese 5/7

1. Brad Sutcliffe
2. Danny Quarmby
3. Harvey Hallas
4. Luke Barraclough
5. Tom Whitaker
6. Jacob Thompson
7. Josh-John Thompson
8. Jonny Hynes
9. Mackenzie Colley
10. Roy Railton
11. Nathan Cooper
12. Ben Wright
13. Brad Coates
14. Tom Norfolk
15. Ben Goddard
16. Jimmy Malthouse
17. Adam Waring

Tries: Hallas (7, 19), Barraclough (11), Railton (22, 30)
Goals: Hynes 4/5


Sport Wales
My Club Betting
Raging Bull Logo
Flintshire County Council
Wrexham County Council
Vaughan Davies
JBC Nutrition
Wxm Lager
The Leader
A B Sundecks