Wales Rugby League




Fri 17/03M2A

Wed 22/03NE1
Calderdale VS.
Leeds City

Wed 22/03NE1
Kirklees CoVS.
Greenhead C

Wed 22/03NW2
Hopwood HalVS.
Salford Red

Wed 22/03NW2
Moreton Rug6
Carmel Coll50

Wed 22/03NW2
Oldham 6th 0
Warrington 30

Wed 22/03NW2
St John RigVS.
Priestley C

Wed 22/03NW2
Salford Cit30
The Rugby L0

Wed 22/03NW2
Runshaw ColVS.
Cronton Col

Wed 22/03NW2
Winstanley 30
Wigan Warri0

Wed 22/03NW2
Wigan & LeiVS.
Cowley Sixt

Wed 22/03PE1
Coleg y Cym58
Bristol Aca24

Wed 22/03PE1
Bishop Burt44

Wed 22/03PE1
Hopwood Hal4
Halifax ERA8

Wed 22/03PE1
New CollegeVS.
Wakefield C

Wed 22/03PE1
Furness RaiVS.

Wed 22/03BCT
Nottingham 14

Wed 22/03CHA
Leeds Becke18

Wed 22/03M2A

Wed 22/03FRI
Manchester VS.
Edge Hill

Wed 22/03FRI
South Wales

Wed 22/03VA
University 4

Wed 22/03N3B
Sheffield A

Wed 22/03M2A
Nottingham 1
Oxford Broo64

Wed 22/03VA
Sheffield H26

Wed 22/03NE2
Leeds ColleVS.
Craven Coll

Sat 25/03C3
Newcastle TVS.
Midlands Hu

Mon 27/03FRE
Midlands HuVS.
Leeds City

Wed 29/03NE2
Craven CollVS.
New College

Wed 29/03VA
St Marys

Wed 29/03CUP
Hopwood HalVS.
Wakefield C

Wed 29/03CUP
New CollegeVS.
Halifax ERA

Wed 29/03VA
Liverpool J

Wed 05/04PE1
Bishop BurtVS.
Coleg y Cym

Wed 05/04PE1
Newcastle T

Wed 05/04PE1
Halifax ERAVS.
Furness Rai

Wed 05/04PE1
Wakefield CVS.
Hopwood Hal

Wed 19/04PE1
Bristol AcaVS.

Wed 19/04PE1
Newcastle TVS.
Bristol Aca

Wed 19/04PE1
New CollegeVS.
Halifax ERA


Page title The Summer Switch

2006 Year 8 Final - Castleford High 16 Brynteg 14

25th August 2006, 13:19

Just five days after Bridgend Blue Bulls' exit in the National Conference Premier semi-finals at the hands of South London Storm, a second Bridgend rugby league side has failed to retain a trophy that they won last year after Brynteg Comprehensive School narrowly lost 16-14 to Castleford High in the Year Eight Powergen Champion Schools Tournament final.

Castleford inflicted their revenge on the Bridgend-based school as the two sides had previously met in the 2005 Year Seven final at the Millennium Stadium with Brynteg running out easy 40-4 winners.

This year though, it was a lot closer with Brynteg unfortunate to lose by the odd try in seven. Rhys Evans, who scored two tries at the Millennium last year, powered clear to open the scoring after just six minutes before adding another from close range to put them 10-0 up.

But Castleford showed their spirit and determination in a hard-fought encounter when Danny Holmes and Danny Wadsworth crossed either side of half time to reduce the deficit to just two points.

Last year's man of the match, Ben Evans replied for Brynteg with a fine charge down the left touchline but hooker David Strong replied immediately with a try to keep Cas in contention.

But Billy Goodall pounced on a loose ball in the corner to edge Castleford ahead for the first time with less than ten minutes remaining - a lead that they weren't going to lose.

Their narrow defeat leaves just Celtic Crusaders flying the flag for Wales in domestic rugby league this season. The Crusaders have two matches remaining in their regular season as they strive for promotion to National League One, travelling to Gateshead next Sunday before entertaining Featherstone Rovers on Sunday 10th September.

1 Adam Hargreaves
2 Ross Velsey
3 Danny Wadsworth
4 Ellis Lacy
5 Matty Norton
6 Danny Holmes
7 Joe Duxbury
8 James Kitchen
9 David Strong
10 Joe Burton
11 Billy Goodall
12 Luke Hobson
13 Daniel Smith
14 Gareth Olliman
15 Sam Mostacci
16 Ryan Meah
17 John Fenwick

1 Adam Wellington
2 Dan James
3 Rhys Evans
4 Josh Miles
5 Huw Rossser
6 Oliver Olds
7 Huw Robinson
8 Chris Morgan
9 Adam Morris
10 Alex Evans
11 Tyler Williams
12 William Thomas
13 Ben Evans
14 Patrick Roberts
15 Aaron Williams
16 Scott Bryant
17 Jay Roberts


Sport Wales
My Club Betting
Raging Bull Logo
Flintshire County Council
Wrexham County Council
Vaughan Davies
JBC Nutrition
Wxm Lager
The Leader
A B Sundecks