Wales Rugby League




Fri 17/03M2A

Wed 22/03NE1
Calderdale VS.
Leeds City

Wed 22/03NE1
Kirklees CoVS.
Greenhead C

Wed 22/03NW2
Hopwood HalVS.
Salford Red

Wed 22/03NW2
Moreton Rug6
Carmel Coll50

Wed 22/03NW2
Oldham 6th 0
Warrington 30

Wed 22/03NW2
St John RigVS.
Priestley C

Wed 22/03NW2
Salford Cit30
The Rugby L0

Wed 22/03NW2
Runshaw ColVS.
Cronton Col

Wed 22/03NW2
Winstanley 30
Wigan Warri0

Wed 22/03NW2
Wigan & LeiVS.
Cowley Sixt

Wed 22/03PE1
Coleg y Cym58
Bristol Aca24

Wed 22/03PE1
Bishop Burt44

Wed 22/03PE1
Hopwood Hal4
Halifax ERA8

Wed 22/03PE1
New CollegeVS.
Wakefield C

Wed 22/03PE1
Furness RaiVS.

Wed 22/03BCT
Nottingham 14

Wed 22/03CHA
Leeds Becke18

Wed 22/03M2A

Wed 22/03FRI
Manchester VS.
Edge Hill

Wed 22/03FRI
South Wales

Wed 22/03VA
University 4

Wed 22/03N3B
Sheffield A

Wed 22/03M2A
Nottingham 1
Oxford Broo64

Wed 22/03VA
Sheffield H26

Wed 22/03NE2
Leeds ColleVS.
Craven Coll

Sat 25/03C3
Newcastle TVS.
Midlands Hu

Mon 27/03FRE
Midlands HuVS.
Leeds City

Wed 29/03NE2
Craven CollVS.
New College

Wed 29/03VA
St Marys

Wed 29/03CUP
Hopwood HalVS.
Wakefield C

Wed 29/03CUP
New CollegeVS.
Halifax ERA

Wed 29/03VA
Liverpool J

Wed 05/04PE1
Bishop BurtVS.
Coleg y Cym

Wed 05/04PE1
Newcastle T

Wed 05/04PE1
Halifax ERAVS.
Furness Rai

Wed 05/04PE1
Wakefield CVS.
Hopwood Hal

Wed 19/04PE1
Bristol AcaVS.

Wed 19/04PE1
Newcastle TVS.
Bristol Aca

Wed 19/04PE1
New CollegeVS.
Halifax ERA


Page title The Summer Switch
Carbon copy final win for Bridgend again

Carbon copy final win for Bridgend again

21st August 2016, 19:20



By Ian Golden at Stadium, Caerphilly


For the third year in a row, Bridgend Blue Bulls scored a try in the dying seconds to again beat Aber Valley Wolves in the Welsh Grand Final.


It was Bridgend’s ninth win the 14-year history of the competition but this time they were underdogs, Aber Valley having finished top of the league and were the better side in the regular season.


It looked like they were going to run away with this game. They took the lead on eight minutes when Arron Evans skirted through from dummy half. Dan Davies converted.


Lewys Willacott, in his second game of the day, scored the second try for the Wolves, which Davies improved to make it 12-0 on 12 minutes.


There was no further scoring in the first half, although both sides had their chances in a lively game, but like the Scorpions game earlier, the constant rain made the ball greasy, ruining a number of opportunities.


Bridgend scored first in the second half, three minutes in, Dai Griggs going in under the posts and Gareth Howells converting to bring the score back to 12-6.


Suddenly the tables were turning. A quick brace of tries from Scott Johnson, Howells converting the first, gave the Bulls a 16-12 lead.


A try and conversion from Howells followed extending their lead to 22-12 before Griggs topped off a man of the match performance by scoring near to the sticks, Howell slicing the kick wide but the Bulls had a 14 point lead going into the final stages.


But Wolves weren’t finished yet. Despite going a man down thanks Ryan Evans seeing yellow for talking back, they scored the next try through Ryan Williams, Dan Davies converting to bring the score back to 26-18.


Then with just ten minutes left on the clock, Geraint Clarke squeezed through to pull another back for the Wolves, Davies converting again and the Bulls had a slender two point lead.


And the largely Wolves crowd erupted when Jacob Wright scored in the dying seconds, Davies missing the kick but Wolves now had a two point advantage.


But Bridgend had one more card left to pull out of the pack and that came to Dale Wood who touched down whilst under pressure to secure their third successive title. Howells converted as the final whistle blew.



1. Lewys Willacott

2. Joel Richards

3. Mathew Curtis

4. Josh Watkins

15. Lloyd Davies

6. Dan Davies

7. Aaron Evans

8. Rhys Hutchinson

9. Ryan Williams

10. Dai Davies

11. Charlie Morgan

12. Darren Griffin

13. Geraint Clarke


14. Ieuan Alexander

5. Gavin Gabrielle

16. Craig Hadley

17. Jacob Wright

18. Callum Rowe

19. Darryl Skym

20. Lloyd Hughes


Tries: Evans (8), Willacott (12), Williams (66), Clarke (70), Wright (79)

Goals: Davies 4/5



1. Jack Dryden

2. Lewis Hughes

23. Gareth Howells

4. Stuart Robson

5. Lewis Morgan

6. Gareth Cox

7. Joe Symons

8. Mark Orpin

9. Nicky Giles

25. Nathan Hawkins

11. Tom Ansen

12. Dan Forrester

13. Scott Johnson


14. John Lloyd

15. Keiron Hooper

16. Dale Wood

24. Dai Griggs

18. Lewis Rees

19. Jarrod Jones

20. Mark Tame


Tries: Griggs (44, 63), Johnson (47, 50), Howells (55), Wood (80)

Goals: Howells 4/6


Half-time: 0-12

Referee: John Brewer

Attendance: 410


Sport Wales
My Club Betting
Raging Bull Logo
Flintshire County Council
Wrexham County Council
Vaughan Davies
JBC Nutrition
Wxm Lager
The Leader
A B Sundecks